From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Feeling Kitschy

kitchen5(marieclairemaison.com)

So far I haven’t had a lot of time to look for that weekend house. But I have been thinking a lot about it. One thing I know for certain is that I want it to be the complete opposite of our main house, meaning I want rustic, mismatched, quirky and simple.  And as much as I go on about white interiors, every once in a while, I get in a kitschy mood and a vacation house might be just the place to indulge that side of my personality. (Or is there a way to do both in one house? Still working on that one as I’m clearly having an identity crisis here.) Anyway, I saw these photos at 50 danska kvadrat and they made me shout, “Exactly!” 

isa_1

isa_2

isa_6

A friend of mine had the cutest little apartment in the 20th arrondissement with a hot pink kitchen almost just like this:

gasl06_suprisekitchen(dominomag.com)

I wish that I had taken photos of her place because it was adorable. She’s since moved to a new apartment but when I go visit in the spring, I’ll be sure to take some pics because she does that Selina Lake-bazaar style really, really well. Speaking of Selina Lake:

picture-201

picture-184(selinalake.co.uk)

How much do you love her book, by the way? I like the pink in these photos, too:

gasl_small_apartments_29

3130e5f5-25c6-4628-bc44-d194c4be3126

3(all: dominomag.com)

and these rooms are all just fun:

22309pattern2(via aprtmenttherapy.com)

clempeek11(via designspongeonline.com)

g_05564_art 
MCM30009
g_05568_art
358221

(all: marieclairemaison.com)

and ultimately I think I want a little fun and whimsy in a vacation house. 

Filed under: Bedroom, Colors, Kitchen

6 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Gorgeous round-up of such playful interiors! The colors here are so fresh and cheerful without being overpowering. And I love the big farm table in the top image—swoon!

  2. thecreme says:

    That pink-ish room from Domino with the lanterns and the blue outside is so beautiful, I can FEEL what it would be like to be there.

  3. Very pretty selection, I feel on vacation now, Thanks !

  4. Devon says:

    Do you think Selina Lake or her client would notice if I stole that white fridge out of the kitchen above?

  5. Lindsay says:

    yes please, to all of it!