From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Greening Of The Guest Room

DSC_9513

For the first time ever, I’m using the color green in my house. And in case it’s a short-lived phase, I wanted to do it on the cheap so I went to Ikea for the two throw pillows and rug. I still want to hang some more art in there but it’s ready for guests. And just in time too – our guests arrived yesterday!

Filed under: Guest Room

16 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Ashley says:

    I am trying to decorate a friends place with green on a budget too! I will for sure check out IKEA… Did you search anywhere else? I seem to be at a loss looking for masculine green!

  2. callie says:

    oooh nice. I need to get to ikea, love that striped rug.

  3. Siiri says:

    Hey Alek!

    Loving that guest room! (I might have to impose myself as a guest someday!) :)

    Did you hear (speaking of IKEA) that they’re building one in Lynnwood? (a nearby suburb to the North of Downtown Seattle, closer than the current IKEA) There’s an old high school up there (Lynnwood High School) that they purchased, right next to all the shopping up there, and they’re going to tear down the school and put up a massive IKEA.

    I’m both excited and sad. That high school was so 70’s and cool, when I was in high school, I can remember playing tennis matches there…..*sigh*

    PS: love your Christmas cactus on the chair/sidetable. Mine just finished it’s second round of blooms and is now sprouting all kinds of crazy new growth leaves.

    • No, I didn’t! You are so in the know – I wouldn’t know anything if it weren’t for you! Thanks for sharing.

      How observant of you to notice that cactus! It’s the only plant I’ve been able to keep alive – it’s got to be the heartiest plant ever.

      • Siiri says:

        Yes, my dad also has two Christmas cacti (right? cacti?)that he saved from a dumpster years ago when we lived in Queen Anne (he saw the guy next door take them out back and dump them, and being the Seattlite, he went and saved them). I was about 8yrs old then. He still has them, they’re enormous, and still blooming each year, one a dark fushia color, the other a really pale quartz.

        Mine is white. I love the white, and I have it in a pretty white pot. But I love the yellow yours is in too!

  4. you have the best house. i’m loving the green and i bet your guests are too!

  5. cassandra says:

    so fresh!! love the pop of green :)

  6. I love your house…. The green on the white looks great. Esp with that little flower pot that pops with the yellow and green!

  7. Meg says:

    LOVE the green! and Love the bed even more, that bed is gorgeous!!!! I have two iron beds, have no idea what colors I should paint them! Have fun with your guests!

  8. Rachel says:

    I love that green!! Been on the hunt for an iron bed actually. Love yours!

  9. Lee says:

    That is your guest bedroom? It’s absolutely, fresh and gorgeous! Damn you have great style. Lee

  10. Love it! I just starting bringing green in as well, and I couldn’t be happier. Your color palette is something I am thinking of for my master bath. So cute!

  11. ana says:

    I love this post
    nice blog!

  12. This looks fantastic! Thanks for your comment on my blog. Yours is a very delightful find too…I think we have similar tastes in interiors, so I shall definitely be a regular from now on.
    Have a happy weekend
    Kerry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

