From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Importing a Little Bit of France

_mg_6738_2 dsc_8870
(left: Paris dining room, right: Seattle dining room)

As we left Paris, our household was packed up in a big container and sent ahead of us across the sea.   I wondered about making all the pieces work together in our new (and *entirely* different) house but since I’ve always liked mixing styles and time periods, it’s starting to come together.  

In the dining room, for example, most of the major pieces came over with us. We had bought the round table in Paris because we had this lovely round dining area; that came with us. We also brought over the two chandeliers we bought while we were there. We even had parts of the house wired such that we could hang them without re-wiring them for the different voltage. The pair of Louis XVI chairs are one of my favorite Paris purchases. They move back and forth between the dining room and the living room, depending on my mood.  The only new item is a buffet (photos coming soon) and the zebra rug, which was actually a housewarming gift from my parents.  Overall, I’m happy with the result and there are still plenty of French pieces to incorporate into the rest of the house! 

Filed under: Dining Room, Paris,

4 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Faith says:

    The mix is wonderful and I love round dining tables too.
    The tall windows in your Paris home with the view inspire me.

  2. alek says:

    Thanks, Faith. I miss those windows and especially what was outside those windows!

  3. Megan says:

    You definitely made both of these work so well. You have fabulous, chic and simple taste. I also love Paris and grew up in Seattle so welcome to Pacific Northwest.

  4. alek says:

    Megan – Thanks so much! And thanks for the warm welcome!

