From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

The Stone Wall Question

dsc_49461

This is the other side of the dining room and the buffet we bought after we moved in. When I first saw this stone wall during construction, my reaction was, “No, no, noooooooooooo.”  But then it started to grow on me and it’s actually become one of the green aspects of the house (the stone was recycled) I appreciate.  Now that I’ve become friends with the wall, my question is this: is this an accent wall that should be left as is or is it too bare/should I hang some art on it?  I did have a painting hanging there for a while but when I went to switch it out for something else, I looked at the wall and thought, maybe I should leave it bare.  If I did, I’d put more objects on the buffet to give it more visual interest.  Any thoughts?

Filed under: Dining Room,

8 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. K-Line says:

    I would totally leave it bare. Like an old stone or brick wall in Quebec. The texture is the design, IMO! I hate clutter. Just put a beautiful vase of fresh flowers weekly and it will be perfect.

  2. alek says:

    K-Line – That’s the way I’m leaning. Thanks for your input.

  3. siiri says:

    I would hang something IN FRONT of the wall. Give it about 6-8″ space, and you could do something like a recycled (green idea!) piece of an old gate, a scrap of old iron work, or something else rugged, that will contrast with the wall, but if it’s semi-see through, then you’re able to enjoy the wall still, while creating a really spectacular juxtaposition between the two surfaces; the two color palettes, and the two sets of shadows that will be created – the set of shadows already there because of the uneven stone, and the shadows the hanging art throws against those pieces of stone!

    (just hit up your local salvage yard, here in Seattle, we have this SWEET one called SecondUse, and they carry such a huge array of vintage iron work and mystry pieces that can totally be repurposed as a focal point)

  4. siiri says:

    One more thought here on my previous note: if you aren’t sure about this idea, you can just find something used and inexpensive at a tag sale or thrift store, so your investment is low, and to maximize the effect, you can hang with heavy gage fishing line, so the piece stands alone, without any pesky wires interfering with the look!

    Anyway, that’s my (long winded) two cents!

  5. alek says:

    siiri – Thanks for the great ideas. You’ve given me lots to think about. And thanks for the tip about SecondUse – I hadn’t heard of that one yet so I’m totally excited to go check it out!

  6. I’m not sure what’s going on in the rest of the room , but if you wanted to do something, you could sit a mirror on the console and just lean it against the wall. You could also lean a painting in front of the mirror for a layered look. Another option is to take away the other two vases and display a tall clear vase with tall flowering branches. You would still be able to see the wall behind them but it would add a little more interest to that area. Hope this helps!

  7. alek says:

    habituallychic – Great minds think alike! I actually did have a painting there until recently and I also had a tall vase with apple tree blossoms for a while. I liked both but then when I was moving things around (as I do all the time), the bare wall looked really interesting. Anyway, I think I just like change so these are all good ideas to rotate. If you’re interested, the other side of the room looks like this. Thanks for your input – this is why I love the internet!

  8. […] think the new mirror would look nice in the dining room on that stone wall I talked about before or in our bedroom which as you may know is all […]

