From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

New York Hotel Design

My greatest passion – even before interior design – is travel. If I were to write one of those “Things I Can’t Live Without” lists, my passport and suitcase would be at the top. So naturally I’m really interested in hotel design. I just love a beautiful hotel.  I’m heading back to New York next month so I’ve been looking around for a place to stay and I’m really drawn to the atmosphere of the Greenwich Hotel.

greenwich2 greenwich

greenwich-4 greenwich3

I’ve been really loving clubby, leather sofas lately and especially paired with textiles in muted tones and lots of wood like here. I’m also considering one of the Thompson hotels which have a similar feel to me: 

gildhall1

picture-455 

I love staying in hotels like this because you can indulge whatever mood you’re in at the moment and there’s no commitment as in redecorating your house. For example, on another trip to New York, I stayed at the Gramercy Park Hotel because the photos literally made my jaw drop and I just fell in love with the opulent vibe.

gph1

gph3

picture-12

picture-421
(gramercyparkhotel.com)

The hotel turned out to be as pretty in real life as in the photos. I would never combine burgundy with red or with light blue or green in my house and that’s precisely why it was so fun to stay there. 

I didn’t have my camera so I took these photos with my iphone which don’t really do the place justice:

img_0107 img_0101 img_0089

(bedside, bathroom light fixture, view from my room)

And two other contenders for my trip: 

picture-471

picture-481

picture-462

Soho House because it was designed by one of my idols, Ilse Crawford. I’ve had a clipping of this bedroom on my inspiration wall for a while now so how cool would it be to finally stay in it?

picture-454

And the Royalton because it was redesigned by Roman and Williams who also designed the new Ace Hotel and the Standard in New York and I’m kind of into that aesthetic right now.

Filed under: Travel, ,

5 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. K-Line says:

    I’d be happy in any of these!

  2. Devon says:

    Many thanks. I too am headed back in a couple of weeks and greatly, greatly appreciate the hotel tips. Have a wonderful trip!

  3. Kristina says:

    The windows at the Greenwich hotel are beautiful. I might have to sneak into a few of those places just to have a look… 😉

    Have a nice weekend!

  4. Devon – You’re welcome! Let me know if you end up staying in any of them.

