From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Kitchen Window Project

dscn00134

We have this window in the kitchen above the sink which is nice and all but the view is kind of hideous. So I usually just keep the blinds closed but that means the kitchen doesn’t get any natural light. I had been planning on having the glass replaced with frosted glass at some point but a couple of weekends ago, I was in one of those “I can’t stand this another minute and must do something about it right now” moods. I did some research on the internet and ultimately decided that contact paper would be the fastest and easiest solution, at least temporarily. So I went to the hardware store and of course they didn’t have anything but weird colors and patterns but next to it was this white laminate paper. I wasn’t sure if it would be opaque enough but decided to give it a go:

dscn00191 dscn0021

and here’s the final result:

dsc_5395

The laminate paper turned out to be just opaque enough to hide the view and let light filter through at the same time. Not bad, eh? And it cost all of $10. As you can see I also got my hands on some Orla Kiely goodies from Target this weekend. I wasn’t planning on getting the canisters and pitcher but they’re pretty cute and I figured I’d regret it if I didn’t once they were gone for good. I managed to get a bunch of other little projects done this weekend too so I’ll be posting about those the rest of the week. Hope you had a good one.

Filed under: Kitchen,

6 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. K-Line says:

    This is TERRIFIC. I wouldn’t invest another cent, given how great the 10 dollar solution is.

  2. Lauren says:

    awesome fix!!!! can’t wait to see your other projects!!
    xoxo

  3. Kristina says:

    Looks great! And the Orla Kiely stuff fits right in 🙂

  4. Devon says:

    Totally brilliant. So you are the one who bought out all the Orla Kiely stuff at Target! 😉

    • Thanks, everyone, you’re too kind.

      Devon – I drove all over the place because the first store I went to had NOTHING! At the second one, there was like one of each thing and that was it. So I just grabbed what I could!

  5. […] (one of my daily reads) and what did I see but my own house!  They had contacted me about my kitchen window project but I had no idea they were interested in the rest of house so this was a total surprise! Thanks, […]

