From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

My Studio: the Ongoing Saga

offic(livingetc.com)

I have been putting off fixing up my studio forever and at this point, it’s downright embarrassing. I have plenty of space and great natural light. I’ve also played around with the furniture placement and think I’ve come up with the optimal layout. But as usual, I have too many ideas and I’m torn as to which direction to go. Warning: this is going to be a long thinking out loud session.

I had always planned on a light, airy space like these: 

11691(skonahem.com)

 office_001

white-home-office

office-3
(livingetc.com)
gasl_small_apartments_20
gasl_small_apartments_21(dominomag.com)

with an inspiration wall like these: 

350489
(via decor8blog.com)

gasl_lili_diallo_13

gasl_herrera_09

(dominomag.com)

and an area for painting like these:

 

43

15

shelves full of books:

11

(jamesmerrell.co.uk) 

and an area for lounging. I have a big couch draped in white just like this:

picture-100(sarahkaye.com)

Now if that were all, I’d be done (or at least, I could be done). But as usual, I have too many ideas and can’t make up my mind which way to go. I mentioned my four red leather chairs last week. They remind me of chairs you might find in a Paris bistro like these:

picture-58(joeschmelzer.com)

I like having them in my studio – one is at the computer, one is on the other side of my  work table, one  is in the painting corner, and the fourth one floats around.  But I think that red leather lends itself better to looks like these:

picture-57(joeschmelzer.com)

g_05359_art(marieclairemaison.com)

So I don’t know whether I want to work the room around these chairs or just store them and keep to my light, white color scheme?

Or a third option may be to try to work the red as the accent color like in these photos:

2

509898(livingetc.com)

If I use red, I think I’d also like to add some yellow because currently I’m just in love with it and it goes so well with red:

orlachair(livingetc.com)

I think that’s enough talking. I need to make a decision, get off my butt and just do it.

Filed under: Studio

12 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Kristina says:

    I love the last photo (Orla Kiely fabric, right?)! Red and yellow are great energetic colors, should be good for studio. But then again, how about working with the white space with yellow as an accent color – that could also be a nice look. This photo by Camilla Engman pops into my head when thinking about it.
    Anyway, good luck – I’m sure it’ll look amazing and look forward to seeing photos of it 🙂

  2. sunny says:

    me too!! I have a cozy office nook that has a comfy couch for lounging, has lots of natural light..and I’m still not “done” with it. Count me in on the pursuit of a home office we can each photograph and say “I did it!”

    (beautiful photos, by the way!! love them all)

  3. Kristina – Yes, that’s Orla. =) I can’t see the link – can you try posting it again? Thanks!

    sunny – Right on! Let’s get it done!

  4. Hi! Little late to the party here…..better late than never, I guess. Love your blog. So pretty. I too am partial to the last photo. I think the red with the yellow and maybe even a citric green would be lovely. I’ll be back to see what you come up with!

    Carol
    gatheringshome.com

  5. Hi, Carol – I think that Orla print just makes it. Thanks for visiting!

  6. Oh man, what a gorgeous round up of inspiration images.

    I know what you mean about having a tough time just making a decision and going for it. I have so many styles and colors that I love, I can’t pick just one and end up with a house full of shabby beige!

  7. Lauren says:

    love all your ideas & feel like I can almost picture it. get to it because i want pics!!
    xoxo

  8. […] of the details changed around. Also, the second photo includes a red chair that looks a lot like the red chairs I wasn’t sure what to do with and it makes me see them in a new […]

  9. Jacci says:

    I don’t know if you get email notices on backpost comments, buuuuut… just in case you do, I have to say that I *love* the idea of using the red as an accent in an all white room (with a teensy touch of yellow). It would be serene without being dull – the punchy color would keep it both cheerful and peaceful. That’s my take on it, anyway. Plus, you get to use your chairs! 🙂

    I’ve enjoyed reading more of your recent archives tonight. Your blog is a fun read 🙂

    Jacci

  10. Jacci – Yes, I do. =) Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying the archives.

