From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Maybe a Shed Is All I Need

writersretreat_pic5(scottsofthrapston.co.uk)

You know that cabin I’m dreaming of? Sometimes I think I could be happy with something like this plunked down in our backyard. I mean look at the possibilities:

shed(via blog.kimvallee.com)

Wouldn’t it be a fun place to have outdoor parties?

picture-802(via purestylehome.blogspot.com)

Or sip tea and read a good book?

g_01672_art(marieclairemaison.com)

To dine al fresco?

picture-811(apartmenttherapy.com)

I had actually entertained this idea briefly when we first moved into our house. I talked to a couple of guys who thought they could build one pretty easily. But they got busy with other things and this project sort of lost momentum. But now that it’s spring, I’m starting to think about it again. It would be easier than finding the perfect cabin and definitely a lot cheaper(!)

Filed under: Cabin, Garden,

12 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. alice says:

    I linked over here from Pure Style Home and I love your blog! What a great idea (and challenge) to use one picture to express your style… It’s going to drive me crazy until I find that now!

    These “sheds” are such cute little hideaways!

  2. Helenna says:

    That’s it! I want a cute little shed like that as my studio. They are so inviting.

  3. K-Line says:

    Hey – on a vaguely related topic, I’m looking for a really clean, modern pergola design. Most everything I’ve looked at is really not my thing. Can you recommend anything?

    • K-Line – I’m afraid I can’t help you on this one. I’m still getting used to living in a house, with a garden, so all that outdoor stuff is still new to me. I’ll let you know if I come across anything in all my surfing though.

  4. Gina says:

    I fantasize about having a shed of my own — to escape the man and the children and have some time to myself.

  5. Oh yes please! I’ll take one too! Then you can invite me to yours (I’ll bring the strawberries and elderflower water) and I can invite you to mine (could you please pick up some scones and chocolate covered almonds when you come). kthanx!

  6. Anne – You are on! And we should add macarons to the menu . . .

  7. Sylvie – Thanks so much for that link – how cute! Now I want a beach shack too!

  8. Katja says:

    I’d love to have a yard enough for a little garden shed – but ours is so small that the shed would take all the space! 🙂 I especially love the second and third pictures.

