From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Pink, Peonies and Pink Peonies

ccf04042009_000031ccf04042009_000041

I planted about a hundred peonies in the backyard in the fall but so far, there are no signs of any life. I’m told it’s early yet but I’m pretty certain that if I want any cut peonies for the house this year, I’ll be getting them from the farmers’ market and not my own yard.

Filed under: Journal Pages

11 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Kristina says:

    lovely pages from your journal! I hope your peonies will pop up soon 🙂

  2. sunny says:

    wow. those are some of my favorite colors in the world.
    beautiful.

  3. Camila says:

    Oh I should have done peonies. So pretty. I can’t wait to see what yours look like.

  4. Heather says:

    *Swoon* Love em 🙂 Thanks for sharing your pages 🙂 I just planted some hydrangeas outside our guest bedroom window. They’re my favorite…but peonies would be gorgeous.

  5. devon says:

    I think we need a Seattle cocktail. Something that gets us loopy enough to forget about the weather and what it’s doing to our flowers. It, of course, must be pink in honor of your still-hibernating peonies. A razz-ma-tini? And my even more brilliant idea is that we wait until I pop out this little guy/girl in October and then we have a huge fall flower planting party at your uber-fabulous house, plant a hundred more peonies, and drink copious amounts of Pink Peonies Razz-ma-tinis. It’ll be our version of the rain dance, which, of course, we never do here in Seattle.

    Totally brill…right?? 😉

  6. K-Line says:

    I love peonies. I still think there’s time left for those flowers to come up. Don’t abandon hope quite yet. And keep us posted.

  7. Devon – That’s super brilliant – I like the way you think!

    Thanks, everyone for the encouraging words. I won’t abandon hope just yet.

  8. lovely collage. pink has been on my mind al ot lately too, what’s up with that?

  9. pam robinson says:

    you should be seeing signs of your peonies..maybe yours are deeper than mine.. they should be peeking out soon. yes, i am LOVING this weather… please stop by… would love to meet you..

  10. Sheshell says:

    I am afraid to tell you that peonies don’t flower the first year you plant them, maybe not the first two years. I have two since two years ago now, and expect them to flower for the frist time this year. They look quite big right now. Be patient, they will grow up, but buy the flowers if you want to enjoy of them this year…
    Love your style.

    • Sheshell – Really??? Now that you say that, I feel like I may have read that somewhere. But I guess I was just in denial. Thanks for breaking the news. I think I would be happy if I just saw any sign of growth at this point. One has pushed its way up but the rest – I’m still waiting.

