From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Shopping and Wish List For The Garden

Whenever the sun makes an appearance around here, I start thinking about the garden. And the sun is definitely out today. So here’s what I’m working with. We have a dining area set up outside our living room sort of like this:

gasl_carina_schott_07

It’s currently paved with concrete pieces and pebbles but we’re both thinking wood would be nicer. (But that would be a long term project – in other words, not anytime soon.)

Out there, we have this dining set – except I didn’t bother getting an umbrella:  picture-30

But I think I may want to get one this year. I don’t talk a lot about budgets here but when it comes to the outdoors, I like to economize as much as possible. Most outdoor pieces seem to wear out pretty quickly no matter how well-made they are and more so if they’re always getting wet as they tend to get around these parts. So I want inexpensive pieces that I won’t feel bad about replacing in a few years. (The dining set is from Ikea and if I remember correctly, the table with 8 cafe chairs came to around $300.)  

I’ve also set up a lounge area on the other side of the garden and strung fairy lights in the trees. Our house is contemporary so I’m trying to keep the garden somewhat in harmony with the style of the house. This is the atmosphere I’m going for:

asheleandro

or this: gasl_outdoor_rooms_20

I bought two black wicker lounge chairs last year (Ikea again) and I think they could use a boost with some yellow and white cushions like these:

gasl_outdoor_rooms_15

Then I think an outdoor rug, a couple of small side tables and maybe another seat of some sort is what I need to pull it all together. If you have any good garden furniture sources, please share them as I don’t have a clue! Thank you!

And by the way, some of my peonies have started to sprout! Is that even the correct word? Anyway, I can’t tell you how exciting this is for me! I’m keeping my distance in the hopes that if they don’t think I’m around, they won’t croak so quickly(!)

(Photos: 1.Domino 2.Anthony Todd 3.Ashe + Leandro, 4.Domino)

Bookmark and Share

Filed under: Garden

14 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. K-Line says:

    That courtyard photo is awesome. I won’t look into patio furniture till next year, I imagine, as I’ve got to pull of the infrastructure first. But I am concerned about wear and tear with the CDN winters. And I def expect the furniture to live outside…

  2. Deb Milne says:

    Love all your ideas. We have very simular tastes. I adore Ikea for outdoor pieces. They last two or more seasons & after that, I love a change. I purchase their outdoor umbrellas last yr. & they are holding up well even with the hot Houston sun.

    I always like checking out CB2 as well or of course West Elm for outdoor pillows & rugs.

    Jealous you have peonies!! Love them & miss having them here.

    (: I’ll send sunshine your way

  3. your outdoor area sounds lovely. i’m crossing my fingers for your peonies (grow little guys, grow!)

  4. Millie says:

    I think all your ideas are wonderful! When we bought our last outdoor setting I invested in some weathproof covers they didn’t look too awful. I whip them off & hide them before guests arrive. They have paid for themselves a zillions times over, as the setting still looks fantastic despite being out in the weather.

    I’m so envious that you have peonies about to bloom – lucky you!
    Millie ^_^

  5. Candi says:

    I love this post…especially the last photo. Who am I kidding, I love your entire blog! I must add you to my blog roll! Thanks for checking out my blog, so I could find yours!

  6. karenmurray says:

    What great outdoor spaces! CB2 has great stuff for the outdoors as does Pier 1. Good luck!

    Karen
    http://www.simplylovelyideas.blogspot.com

  7. Kristina says:

    see, I told you those peonies would behave 🙂

    I wish I had a garden – I would also put fairy lights in the trees!

  8. devon says:

    You clearly need these Orla shoes (from the I Heart You blog) for your deck:

    http://www.iheartyoublog.com/2009/04/hearting-these-for-summer.html

  9. Siiri says:

    Okay, for umbrellas, maybe check into either IKEA again (I was there recently and recall seeing one), or Lowe’s online clearance center. also (I think I may have suggested this place before) Second Use salvage down south of the city, about 15 minute drive, they have all sorts of stuff and a great online inventory (but it’s only a fraction of what they carry). If you want to redo something with outdoor fabric, might I suggest the Pacific Fabrics Oulet in SODO on 4th near Holgate (just North of the Costco, on the East side of the street). They have bold colors, and you could make a weather proof outdoor rug which would hose down nicely, but still give you that pop of color, for DIRT cheap!

    And, lastly, if you’re looking for some sweet containers (sweet, like super cheap and wide variety, not sweet like gramma’s figurines) then check out the store 1/2 price pots if you have not already done so! (I think they have 3 locations around Seattle)

    And if you don’t have large plants to stick in them, I know someone on Craigslist will, because a girlfriend of mine just picked up a huge bundle of great plants (all shapes and sizes) from a woman in west seattle that was cleaning out her garden and giving the plants away for free! (very common here, this time of year)

    Enjoy!

  10. devon – You’re like my dealer – you know how much I love Orla! Those are adorable.

    Siiri – Once again, you have the best information! Thank you! I’ll let you know what I find.

    • Siiri says:

      Glad to be of help! Just pay me in pictures (of the results!) 🙂 and seriously, I’m glad it’s Friday and all, but this weather can suck it. The drive from Seattle to Bellevue this morning was more than ominous……ick! (I thought it was supposed to be nice this weekend?)

  11. Julie says:

    those images are insanely beautiful!

