From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Another Idea For The TV Area

delikatissen2

I came across photos of this apartment and it caught my eye for two reasons. First, that gray wall is such a great accent and I think that shade is just lovely. But more importantly, I’m trying to figure out our tv/fireplace area and I really like these shelves above the tv. It would be a good way to display art and books and add some interest to that blank space. 

delikatissen1

But my window goes to the edge so I don’t have enough wall space for the shelves to rest so I wouldn’t be able to stretch them from wall to wall. I still like this idea quite a bit so I wonder how I can make it work  . . .

(Photos: Delikatissen)

Filed under: Living Room

15 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Mia says:

    I like the shelves too, hope you can make it work at your place. I also like the floor lamp by the sofa.

  2. i really like the fancy chandelier against the modern table and chairs. very nice. (oh and the gray wall is a very smart decision here.)

  3. K-Line says:

    The Victorian cornices in my house are that shade of grey – against a pink tinged white on the walls and ceiling. Really beautiful combo, IMO. It’s been the same colour for 10 years and, after having some plaster work done next month, I intend to keep it the same. Boring, maybe, but what a delish combination.

  4. Rachel says:

    I love that shade of grey… I’m looking for something to go in my bedroom.

    I always have loved dramatic shelving. Good luck!

  5. PS~Erin says:

    Oh, I do love that gray wall too… With the wood table and the chandelier. They are all so different, but they work so well together. Nice find!

    Take a picture of your wall you are trying to figure out. I’d love to sneak a peak and offer an opinion.

    • If you click on the link in the post, it should take you to a photo. I’d love any suggestions!

      • PS~Erin says:

        Okay, I checked out… I’m a symmetrical person too, so I understand you being stumped. Some sort of built in surround would definitely solve your issues, but probably a bit pricey. I remember Candace Olsen (HGTV Divine Design) did something with floating shelves in a similar layout, but it was a long time ago. Of course, she probably works with a giant budget and her own team. I wonder if there are show archives for her. I’ll keep my eye out for some other ideas.

  6. Meg says:

    What a great room – I agree that the grey is a gorgeous accent colour. We have a similar although slightly darker shade of grey in our bedroom and it is a lovely colour to live with.
    Looking at the pic of your room, perhaps there is a way of making the arrangement work with long floating shelves either one directly above the other or slightly staggered?
    Thank you very much for your comments on my blog by the way. I am delighted to discover yours and will be a regular visitor!

  7. delikatissen says:

    Thanks so much for the pingback from the right bank!! 😉

  8. blair says:

    Very good idea! Love the chandelier too.

  9. Lauren says:

    really pretty & functional. I loev that it takes the focus a bit off of the tv… maybe beveling the ends of the shelfn so it doesn’t look like it’s overlapping as much with the window??? just a thought??
    xoxo

