From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

We Go Way Back

picture-112
This Swedish cabin has been seen around the blogosphere a lot lately and I just had to chime in.  You see, this house and I have a history. Sort of.

picture-115
I first spotted this cabin in the magazine Ville & Casali in 2006 when I was in Italy. I couldn’t stop looking at it. It was most definitely love at first sight. I brought the magazine home, tore out my favorite photo and put it on a wall in my studio. When we moved into our current house, the same page went up in my studio again:

dsc_89611(my inspiration wall)

Then in the past few months – three years into my obsession – the house seems to be popping up everywhere I turn and I confess to feeling a little territorial about it. Like it’s “my” house. If the real owners were reading this, I’m sure they would find that very creepy(!)

picture-114

Anyway, my desire for a weekend house all started with this one house. Seeing it around so much makes me think it may have that effect on some other people, too.

And look, it even fits in with my black & white stripe theme this week:

picture-113

So that’s the story of this house and me. It’s an ongoing one and I’m hoping for a happy ending – that I’ll find something like it in the near future.

This post is part of the Hooked on Houses blog party today. Have a great weekend!

(Photos: Martin Lof)
Filed under: Cabin

13 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Rachel says:

    LOVELY cabin!!

  2. How can one not dream of a cabin such as that? Terrific significance. Had to chuckle over the blk & wh stripped bedskirt. Never can get tired of that, even in the woods!!
    Great weekend to you!

  3. WOW it’s a beauty! Hope you find a cabin to call your own soon……..I don’t think there is anything better then a place “away from it all”.

  4. PS~Erin says:

    I can see why you tore it out in the first place… I’d love to be able to spend whatever weekend I pleased there. So nice. Love your description of your attachment to it.

  5. I think it’s hilarious that you are a little territorial over it – I’m totally that way about stuff too!

  6. Millie says:

    I think we all have a house like this in our lives! How fantastic it’s been the star on your inspiration board for so long – & I can understand why. Such simple, honest style is very appealing to our sometimes very overloaded senses.
    Millie ^_^

  7. Maya says:

    What a darling cabin…, and it will manifest!

  8. nkp says:

    Wow, it is a sliver of perfection, isn’t it. Does the view go on forever or what! I love that porthole widow. Lovely place, I hope you find yours someday soon. :0)

  9. Luphia says:

    i;d love a weekend away spend in that lovely cabin too!!

    ps, absolutely love your blog, would love to exchange links if you’re interested? xx

  10. […] (Porch Love) 55. Deb/Dumbwittellher 56. Heather 57. Jessica (Spray Paint projects) 58. From the Right Bank to the Left Coast (My Ideal Weekend House) 59. ImagineCozy(Welcoming Entry) 60. RehabOrDie.com — Hooked on Neptune 61. Janis@An Inspired […]

  11. i really need to make a list to help my scattered brain. good luck with yours!

  12. Love your story. What a great little cabin.

    Best,
    Julie

