From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Status On The Cabin Search

picture-111

Some of you know that I am looking for a weekend house. For those of you following along, here’s a status report.

I’ve been doing a lot of looking on the web and we’ve gone to look at a few places but we didn’t particularly care for the areas. So I’ve decided that we need to find the right location first then start looking for houses in those areas. The hardest thing about that, of course, is finding the time to get out and visit some of these places. We’re hoping to get out to a couple of new spots this spring and summer that seem to have some promise. Hopefully, some of them will be in settings like this photo! So that’s where we are today. I’ll keep you posted as things develop.

(Photo: Rachel Smith)
Filed under: Cabin

13 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. modernemama says:

    Just a thought (that isn’t meant to be negative)…if you can’t find time to visit the area how will you find time to visit your cabin…?

  2. Michelle says:

    Good luck on finding a place. We bought a weekend place in the country last year and love it! key is to keep the drive to under 2 hours – to get there. PS your blog is very inspiring.

  3. Pure blissdom! Very envious, miss the woods. Looking forward to reading more about your pursuit.

  4. good luck on your search…can’t wait to see what you choose!

  5. Mia says:

    I saw your comment in my blog about that Bourgogne is one of your favourite parts of France. My husband and I have spent some vacations there and we really loved it. We stayed some nights at the fantastic hotel Chateau Chailly and botanized in the lovely wine shops in Nuits St Georges.
    Good luck searching for a nice cabin.

  6. nkp says:

    This snapshot looks like a perfect locale. Good luck hunting for just the right location. Smart move.

    We too looked for a woodland weekend getaway last year. But never could find just the right one and now, after the economic downturn, we are relieved that we waited.

    Can’t wait to see the gems your hunt unearths!

  7. Julie says:

    sounds like it’ll make for a fun spring and summer!! who doesn’t love exploring new places?!

  8. paula says:

    I just adore all the pops of color against that white. That fireplace is quite lovely too.

  9. Charlie says:

    Have you visited Winslow? We had a place there for a few years and I loved it. I wish I had never let it go. I was looking at old family photos taken there and thought of you. There is a place called the Manor Farm Inn where you can spend a night or two so you can look around. Winslow is just a ferry ride away, it’s a piece of cake to ferry into Seattle for work.

