From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Talk About An Inspiring Workspace

Now that I’ve finally cleaned up my studio, I’m turning my attention to the details. But who needs pretty details if you have a view like this:

desk-51

We had a view of the Eiffel Tower from our old apartment but let me tell you, it was nothing like this! Can you imagine working at this desk every day? Have a great weekend, everyone!

This post is part of the Hooked on Houses blog today.

(Photo: via Design Tavern)

Filed under: Studio

32 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Meg says:

    Excuse me while I wipe the drool off my keyboard. Holy Moly that is gorgeous. I never get sick of the Eiffel Tower, I must have hundreds of photos that I’ve taken of it, it just never gets old. Working while watching, now that is a dream!!!

  2. LindsB says:

    Wow, I would look out that window all day long- what an amazing view!

  3. i’m not sure what i’d do with a view like that…oh wait, i know, never leave my house.

  4. K-Line says:

    Man, that is gorgeous.

    Tell me, when you lived in Paris, did you have old plaster walls? In light of our current plaster restoration (egad!), my husband and I were having this discussion about how French apartments (and chateaux) have old plaster that shows its age but that it’s simply part of the charm of the historic architecture. I wonder, though, if we’re just making that up and the people with the charming, “falling down” walls are the ones who can’t afford / be bothered to fix them. I figure, you’re in the know so we’d love your feedback.

    • We lived in a Haussmann style building that was about 100 years old and totally renovated so no crumbling walls there. The same was true for the apartments of friends, etc. I know what you mean about the old plaster though – but in my experience you can only get away with that in really old buildings (several hundred years+) and in very grand structures like chateaux or on the other end, very rustic cottage-like houses. You can’t really pull that off in anything in between (which is where most of us live). IMHO.

  5. Oh yes please! I feel as though a view like that would lead me to write the next great novel AND the next great poetry anthology, all within the span of about a week. That’s the view that writers’ dreams are made of!

  6. Angela says:

    I don’t think I’d get much work done if I had that view!! That is awesome!!
    ~angela @ peonypatch

  7. Mia says:

    Wonderful view, love Paris.

  8. Julie says:

    that is beyond insane. i don’t even know what else to say. i think i would cry with happiness every day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. modernemama says:

    I would never get any work done. Ever. Too fabulous for words

  10. Julie says:

    i would love to gaze out at such an incredible view while working…but just like everyone else has mentioned, i don’t think i’d get a thing done! i’d just want to drink great wine and snack on fabulous cheese ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Lee says:

    *sigh*, that pic makes me long for Paris. If I had a view like that I’d just sit there drinking tea (or champagne) all day long, staring out the window. Beautiful!

  12. Such an amazing view! I wouldn’t get any work done.

  13. Christy says:

    Thanks for the anniversary wish! I would never work or do anything with a view like that. My office is in a hole for that reason!

  14. I can’t believe someone actually gets to look at that while they work………just beautiful!

  15. I have to say…, this view almost beats an ocean view. It’s quiet powerful actually. Oh, and Sunday will be my last post for a while.

  16. K-Line says:

    Thanks for your feedback…

  17. Annette says:

    Hmm Iยดm not envy at all… just thinking about why my workspace have a view to a great industial area…

  18. Charlie says:

    Who could work with a view like that? I would be so distracted that I would have to take my laptop into the closet and work from there. What am I saying, in your closet I wouldn’t be able to work either, I’d be playing with my shoes.Ahh- willpower I suppose. Have a wonderful weekend!

  19. Fifi Flower says:

    That photo is my NEW painting… thanks for the inspiration… it will be called Fifi’s Dream Studio!!! I will start working on it TODAY… FAB FAB FAB photo! Oooooh la la a girl can dream!!!
    Bon week-end!
    Fifi

  20. Kristina says:

    wow – with a view like that I’d finish my disseration in no time at all – or maybe never finish it, just stare out the window and dream… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. blair says:

    Oh, wow! That is completely dreamy!

  22. Wow, what a stunning view! I’m wondering how much work would really get done. And I’m thinking how cool it would be to work in that office at night! Thank you for sharing this inspiring photograph! ~Arleen

  23. Megan says:

    Oh no, I commented on the wrong photo! ha. Well, this view is amazing. And I definitely wouldn’t get any work done.

  24. […] Patch Farmgirl (Blooms) 52. Bonnie M 53. Laura @ Decor to Adore 54. Newlyweds (Summer Garden) 55. From the Right Bank to the Left Coast (An Inspiring Workspace) 56. ImagineCozy (Table Decor) 57. Janis@An Inspired Life (outdoor decor) 58. Likely Design (Funky […]

  25. Emily says:

    What a gorgeous illustration and a magical space! I adore it! -e

  26. H says:

    Magical
    I lived on the Quai henri IV on the right bank for a year too – I couldn’t see the tower from my window, but when you stepped on to the street out of the Hausmann-style building, you could see it sparkling ahead.
    Fun times! x

  27. nkp says:

    If this were my space, I would get absolutely.nothing.done. That is simply spectacular!

  28. PS~Erin says:

    Um, yes please! Wow.

