From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Branching Up And Out

When I saw this at Me Melodia:

dti5

it immediately made me think of this:

berryblack_big

and this:

Picture 37

and they all make me want to go scavenging for giant branches.

(Photos: 1. via Desire to Inspire 2.Ferm Living 3.Elle Interior)
Filed under: Accessories

20 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. mayra says:

    i want branches now!! so clever and adorable!!!!

  2. would you have to treat the branches in any way to ensure they won’t get moldy or weaken over time? i love the look i just wouldn’t know how to make it happen.

    • I am EXACTLY the same way! At least you thought about the practicalities of it. I didn’t even get past, “Look how pretty!” So to answer your question, you probably would have to do something to the wood but I have no idea what(!) 🙂

  3. Beautiful.
    Lovely blog too.

  4. I love, love the tall one with cat toys! It’s perfect! I’m personally using a branch of driftwood for a curtain rod in my guest room. It’s really pretty and whimsical!

  5. Siiri says:

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! I love branches indoors. I am really wanting to do a huge, random piece of drift wood from Shilshol bay or someplace like that, to put above Paul’s bed at his condo. I think it would really add a cool touch to the room, which has a brick wall, but it would still be manly enough for him.

    We should plan a wood hunting day here in SEA! (Or maybe I’m just so excited that it sounds like a great idea, but then actually doing it would be dumb? or frustrating?)

    • A wood hunting day! It sounds like a GREAT idea. (You are full of great ideas!) But that doesn’t mean I’ll be able to get my lazy butt out to do . . . I love driftwood too – I’d actually like a whole stack for the area around my fireplace.

      • Siiri says:

        Is it legal to take driftwood off the beach in the state of Washington? If so, I’m printing out a copy of that law, sticking it in my back pocket, and heading to Golden Gardens.

        Stay tuned, I’m investigating.

        • Siiri says:

          Ok, call me crazy, but I found something at the Dept of Ecology:

          you need to obtain a “state parks’ wood debris collection permit”

          Here’s the corresponding law:
          WAC 352-32-290 Wood debris collection.

          But I’m not seeing any beaches that are designated as parks….

          And I’m officially taking this too far.

          Done.

          • You kill me!!! Like I said before if it weren’t for you, I’d be totally clueless.

            I would have just gone out and started gathering whatever – it never would have even occurred to me to find out if it was legal first.Thanks for saving me a potential run in with the law.I owe you one!

            • Siiri says:

              HA! Darn, I should’ve kept my mouth shut, it would have made a great post! “so I was illegally gathering driftwood at the beach the other day when the cops….” PS: I hit up a dope estate sale this weekend and scored a SWEET mirror and some vintage mason jars. Stay tuned to Decorazzi for pics and plans.

  6. Mia says:

    Yes, me too. It’s really nice.

  7. Makes me want to find a big old piece of driftwood this summer and create the look, too! But I’m a little bit worried mine would come crashing down.

  8. K-Line says:

    Um, why don’t I have a tree growing in my living room??

  9. I love your randomness..for some weird reason, that drum makes the room. I like it (:

  10. Candi says:

    I love this room 🙂

  11. Bromeliad says:

    Oooo. I have been stalking tree branches for two months. Very hard to find in Brooklyn.

