From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Tulips (Or, The Death Of A Coffee Table)

Picture 36

In the past couple of weeks, I had occasion to leave comments at two different blogs about my beloved Saarinen tulip coffee table. So I thought I’d share it here.

We found an original marble top Saarinen tulip coffee table at the Marché aux Puces in Paris. It wasn’t cheap but worth every penny in my opinion. I loved that table like crazy. Well, one day my husband tripped over something and basically landed on the side of the table. (To this day I have no idea how he managed that.) I immediately ran over to check on the table, then him. Did I mention it was an original Saarinen? From the 50’s? There are only so many of those around, you know. Anyway, the husband was fine but the marble cracked from one side to the other and broke right off. So tragic. 

So as far as I’m concerned I’m still owed a Saarinen of some sort. And I have always loved the tulip chair . . .

tulip1

It’s such a beautiful piece of furniture, it really is worthy of its own room. I realize that isn’t realistic for most of us but I love this image!

(Photos: 1.DWR 2.Interiors)

Filed under: Furniture,

18 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Meg says:

    How tragic!!!!! I am sure another one will happen into your life soon!!

  2. modernemama says:

    Even the new ones crack and chip! I love them but I can’t justify $$$$ having seen what can happen, it would break my heart – leaning towards a rosewood top instead

  3. the room need one brightly colored flower and then i’d be totally sold. your table is GORGEOUS.

  4. Brandie says:

    That is tragic! I recently bought a pair of tulip chairs for a psycho steal at my neighborhood vintage store and I literally can’t get enough of them. The day they came home I couldn’t stop staring at them when I wasn’t actually sitting in them. Now I’m on the hunt for a great table to go with them, but for now, they have the space all to themselves! 🙂

  5. Rachel says:

    How awful!! My eyes have just recently opened up to tulip chairs and tables.. I’m a big fan!

  6. Boooooo, what a massive shame! Love that image with the tulip chair. I could quite happily be sat in there right now.

  7. That is so sad about the table but maybe it has more character now? They are so pretty, I wish I had one!

  8. K-Line says:

    Wow, that’s awful. I can totally understand your lurching for the table first! 🙂

  9. Charlie says:

    That is tragic! But they can repair the crack these days. If you want I can check with the designer who handled a similar mishap for a client after a dinner party. If I am not mistaken a kitchen designer handled it. BTW, I concur, the husband was ok after the fall, so the chairs are or something Saarinesk in order.

  10. nkp says:

    Oh my goodness, have you stopped crying yet? Poor table and of course, poor hubby. I love those tulip tables in every form- marble, wood, coffee, dining. We saved our pennies for years and splurged on one last year for our breakfast area. Let me tell you, it was worth every penny and it makes me so happy every time I look at it. I know I will have it forever. Just need to make sure none of my boys takes a fall! ;0)

    That last photo is surreal, what an incredible space, down to the last detail.

  11. can you have a new top made for it? If the base is OK – then it could be salvaged…but the extra cash, and its not the original – all sucks.

    I’m actually looking to sell my set of six tulip chairs right now. I think they are like amazing sculptures but just not very practical at the dining table.

  12. Lauren Liess says:

    I think of you when i look at my table!!! (I really wish I coulg have taken your advice & afforded a real one but maybe some day?!!) I know how you feel about the broken table— you know it shouldn’t make you sad but it does!!
    xoxo
    ps- where are you going tomorrow?!! 🙂

  13. Maddio says:

    Disastrous! My mother has the exact table, also an original. I have my eye on it for when she’s ready to hand it over. I would just die if anything happened to it. The chairs are also beautiful. Those would look great at the dining room table!

  14. Maddio says:

    PS. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  15. We have a marble top Saarinen tulip dining table… the marble is chipped, but no one knows how and when it happened! Then the tulip chairs… We bought four in some second hand designer store for 75 a piece, but without the cushions. I thought I could just order them through the manufacturer, oh yes I could have…, for hundreds of dollars a cushion! So I made some myself with foam… but it just doesn’t look right. I’ll probably sell them or give them away eventually.

