From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Guest Blogger: Lee From Glimpse Of Style

Zuster_Showroom1

Hi I’m Lee from Glimpse of Style. I was absolutely rapt when Alek asked me to do a guest post of her gorgeous blog while she’s away taking in the sights of Paris (lucky girl!).

Being a Melbourne (Australian) blogger I thought that for my guest post here at the lovely From The Right Bank To The Left Coast I’d show you a little bit of Melbourne furniture design by way of the fabulous furniture company Zuster. And I thought I’d also include some images from the home of one of the owners of Zuster, Wilhemina McCarroll.

Zuster means ‘sister’ in Dutch, which is a very fitting name since this furniture design company is owned and run by four sisters: Wilhemina, Katrina, Fleur and Meika Sibbel. The company was started in Melbourne in the 1950s by their father Meyer Sibbel. Zuster make beautifully crafted timber furniture – beds, tables, storage and entertainment units, desks, chairs etc. I adore their sleek furniture, and if I could have only one piece from their range it would have to be the Stella dining table in American oak.

Zuster_Table

But it would be a hard choice, because all their products are gorgeous!
Zuster_Showroom3

As you can see, the Sibbel sisters are very talented ladies.

Following are a few pictures of the home of Wilhemina McCarroll (nee Sibbel), and naturally there are many beautiful Zuster pieces used in this very well designed home.

Zuster_Home1

Zuster_Home 2

Zuster_Home3

Zuster_Home4

Zuster_Home5

Zuster_Home6

I especially love the exposed brick wall in the master bedroom and ensuite – it’s a wonderful contrast to the highly styled and quite minimalist approach to decorating.

And last, but not least, here are a few shots of another lovely home in which Zuster furniture is heavily featured.

Zuster_Other1

Zuster_Other2

Zuster_Other3

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little taste of Melbourne design.

(Photos: Zuster)

Filed under: Uncategorized,

7 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Charlie says:

    Wow those are gorgeous pieces and the home is lovely. The third image with the charcoal walls and black round Zuster table is stunning. There isn’t much to disturb the clean lines and the very well placed pieces. The table is gorgeous! Thank you for a great post and a beautiful peek at Melbourne.

  2. Bella says:

    So pretty!!!!

  3. K-Line says:

    Ooh, love this style…

  4. Thanks for this Melbourne tour, I just love all the modern style wood pieces.

  5. great post and is that a metal deer head, b/c if it is i have to have it!

  6. Millie says:

    Lovely to visit you here Lee – & I’m not half jealous of Alek! Love these girls work, pure & simple design with a real touch of Europe, yet just perfect for Aussie homes. I’m envious that all the sisters can work together, not only is my only sibling from a different planet, somedays I reckon she’s living in a whole different solar system! We are very, very different. Super post girl.
    Millie ^_^

  7. nkp says:

    Such a great post! I love so much about this one-the introduction to this great company, the name “Zuster,” the sisterly connection, and of course the beautiful home. Especially the incredible brick-walled interiors, the sweet little boy’s room, and the wonderful photo wall.

    Thanks for sharing all these goodies!

