From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Off The Wall

Some of you know we have a stone wall in our dining room and kitchen. (Background story here.) Basically, I hated it at first but then learned to peacefully co-exist with it. After several permutations, it currently looks like this:

3295671467_9cbf295759

Until now, I had been pretty happy with it – and the dining room as a whole – but I’m not feeling it so much anymore. What I am feeling is something more like this:

glimpseofstyle

and this:

thebrickhouse

In other words, more modern, less glam. These photos actually make me love my wall. I just want to switch it up a bit. I’m not sure what I’ll do with it but for starters, I think it’s time for the mirror to find a new spot in the house. Suggestions/thoughts are welcome as always.

(Photos: 1.via Glimpse of Style 2.via The Brick House)

Filed under: Dining Room,

16 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. i know i tell you this all the time, but holy cow your house is gorgeous.
    ok, so i’m thinking you could do a couple of small changes to make it more “modern.” maybe the set up on your table under the mirror? replace the current white pieces with something more structured? you could always opt for a more modern mirror but i kind of like this one and whatever you do please don’t get rid of your chandelier. i think having a mix of modern and romantic in that space is key. good luck!

    • I agree the white vases need to find a new home, too. And don’t worry, that chandelier is the one thing that isn’t ever going anywhere. It’s my favorite thing in the entire house!

  2. Meg says:

    I love that stone wall!!! Make the most of it! Your room is gorgeous and doesn’t need changing one bit, but I know the feeling of always ‘reinventing’! 😉 Welcome home!

  3. Lee says:

    Bonjour Madamoiselle Alek! Sounds like you had a fantastic trip to Paris. Now, I must say, I love your stone wall and decor just as it is, but I so understand where you’re coming from wanting a change of some sort. I’m forever changing things in my home & it drives my husband crazy! I reckon Down & Out Chic is spot on the money – a more modern mirror and perhaps a contemporary lamp and it will change the whole space. BTW, I’m so flattered you used this pic that I posted on my blog.

  4. Lauren says:

    your house NEEDS to be in a magzine!!! seriously you should contact someone!!!

    ok- i’m so glad you posted on this— you’re making me rethink my stone walls— we have 2 in our house EXACTLY like the last pic- one is in a bathroom and the other in the family room… great inspiration!!!

    i love what you have already but know what you do will be just as beautiful!!
    xoxo

    • You are too sweet! Too bad all the magazines are folding(!)

      I can’t believe you have stone walls, too. Is it like old clothes – if you wait long enough, everything will be back in fashion again? 🙂

  5. blair says:

    Oh, I love it! You did an amazing job. I like the glam look with the stone–very fun contrast.

  6. Mia says:

    I like your room with the combination of the Arne Jacobsen chairs and the mirror.

  7. paula says:

    Your space is stunning! Even though it is gorgeous I understand the need for change, my husband not so much:)

  8. Deb Milne says:

    Truly, I love yours the best. It is fabulous! Terrific feel ♥

  9. Jessica says:

    Very lovely…and I love the pops of yellow in your inspiration pics!

  10. First, I LOVE your dining room!!!! and second, that mirror can make it’s way to my house:) I love everything about the room.
    Your home is just beautiful. xx callie

  11. Jesse says:

    I love what you currently have, but being someone who likes to change my decor often, I can understand your want to change. Love the inspiration pics you posted. =)

  12. Melissa says:

    Oh my, oh my, oh my – what a beautiful home! I had to re-read several times to grasp that these photos were not from a magazine! Gorgeous! I love that you live in such an aethetically stunning home.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog so I could discover this little treasure of yours.

  13. I think the color of the stone is lovely, and I agree that you need a really modern mirror or maybe a very structured vintage abstract painting that can play off the hard lines of the stone.

    I think the more regency themed accessories are too busy for all thats happening in the stone work and that if you streamlined it and went a little more minimal the wall will POP.

    It really is pretty pretty stone! I think its amazing with the warmth of the ceiling.

