From the Right Bank to the Left Coast

I'll always have Paris.

Stripe Happy

I’ve always loved stripes – I tend to wear a lot of it – and my current obsession is striped rugs:

picture-3

gasl_amanda_peet_02 gasl_stripes_15

I love the flowered border on this one:

def74e087e4d5e75d31ccf249e9e4c0d_shot_09_024

It’s not that I need another rug at the moment but I’m always on the lookout for cool rugs because I like to switch them out when the mood strikes or, more likely, when they’ve taken all the abuse they can from the dogs. This is why rugs are another thing I don’t want to spend too much money on. Rugs are just not going to have a long life at our house. For that reason and because I love black and white stripes, the Ikea Stockholm Rand rug is very appealing to me:

charliesdesigndiary charlies

You can never go wrong with black and white stripes in my opinion. Doesn’t it look great in this house? 

(Photos: 1.Floto+Warner 2&3.Domino 4.Sarah Kaye 5.via Charlie’s Design Diary)

Bookmark and Share

Filed under: Accessories,

12 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. Lee says:

    Love the B&W striped rug too. A great rug can really change the whole atmosphere & tone of a room (and at quite a reasonable cost too). Lee 🙂

  2. nkp says:

    I have been thinking about that very Ikea rug pretty much non-stop since I first saw it. I love it, but don’t really have anywhere to put it. It looks fantastic in the photos you showcased and I’m crazy for photo two. In fact, it made me think of the Ikea rug, before I scrolled down and read the rest of your GREAT post.

  3. i could use a striped rug, really… (i could use a few rugs actually).

  4. Katja says:

    Yes, black and white stripes are my favorite right now too! Was just thinking how many stripy black+white rugs could I get away with, would it be too much if two or three rooms had one…:)

  5. Kristina says:

    I love that IKEA Stockholm Rand rug! (adding to your Swedish vocabulary: “rand” means stripe 🙂 )Both in the black and white, and in the white and off-white.

  6. Camila says:

    I love stripes. I have a brown and cream striped rug from West Elm in my living room and I love it!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  7. Julie says:

    i am with you on not wanting to spend too much money on rugs. we finally taught our dog not to use our couches as his personal napkins, so now he uses our rugs.

    • Katja – I say you can never have too many stripes!

      Kristina – Thank you! With your help, I’ll be fluent in no time(!)

      Julie – That’s hilarious. I just had our couch cleaned for the same reason(!)

  8. Rachel says:

    Ooh, I love that last picture. I think b/c we’re in an apartment full of carpet, I have no desire to get a rug… no matter how much I love them. I KNOW that will change when we move. Stripes are fun and not something I had thought about.. so thanks for the post!

  9. Charlie says:

    Alek,

    I love this post! I have always been a fan of stripes. The first photo is a WOW room the bold use of color is out of this world. I really love to see how other people manage to make color work in their homes. I am so pleased you liked the white room with the black and white striped Ikea Carpet. I love the designer and that is her weekend house! She will be thrilled you liked it.

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog, and I look forward to discovering your blog as well, I am so intrigued. You mention that you have recently relocated to Seattle. I lived in the Seattle area for 8 years, and my daughter now lives there as well. We have moved around quite a bit as well. Lets touch base, this is so much fun. I hope you are loving the Pacific Northwest!

    Have a great weekend!

    Charlie

  10. Heather says:

    I LOVE black and white striped rugs. I saw a recent design idea somewhere (Domino?) where they took 3 of Ikea’s very inexpensive b+w striped runners and sewed them together. You basically ended up with a big room-sized rug for like $50.

    What i really love is the wood stacked in that second to last pic. I have a decorative mantel with nothing in the fireplace area but bare wall, so i’m thinking of just stacking some decorative wood like that there…

  11. […] that B&W striped rug I was talking about last week? Well, here is another similar or same striped rug in an entirely different room and it looks just […]